Mu's Mansion (Mufu)
Located at the southwest of Lijiang old town, Mu's Mansion was once the residential and working site of the Naxi rulers of Lijiang in the ancient time. It was first built in Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644). The family name of the ruler is called 'Mu', hence the name of this mansion. The family governed the Lijiang region during Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties, lasting for 22 generations. Their family name 'Mu' was granted by the first Emperor of Ming Dynasty - Zhu Yuanzhang in 1382.
The complex embodies the wisdom and skills of Naxi architects. The famous traveler in Ming Dynasty Xu Xiake once commented: 'It has the palace's magnificence, suitable for the King'. No wonder some people say the mansion is the Forbidden City of Naxi people. Unfortunately most of the buildings were destroyed during the warfare in late Qing Dynasty (1644 - 1912). The present Mu's Mansion was rebuilt during 1996-1999.
Mu's Mansion covers an area of 46 mu (about 8 acres) and extends a length of 369 meters (about 404 yards). With the Shizi Mountain (Lion Mountain) behind, the complex faces east. The residence consists of two parts: the office area and the living area.
More Attractions in Lijiang
Recommended China Tours Including Mu's Mansion (Mufu) Lijiang
This Luxury China tour package provides golden opportunity to explore the charm of rich cultural heritage and monument ...
Let's get a superb panorama of China! From culture to history and religons, from Forbidden City to Great Wall, from Te ...
This is an Intrepid Lifetime journey for travelers, which blends diverse landscape with cultural relics from eastern c ...
Find something useful to you at Easy Tour China website.