USA/CA: 1 888 666 0951 
Home > Nanjing > Lingu Monastery

Lingu Monastery   

The monastery lies 1.5 km east of Dr. Sun Yat-sen's Mausoleum and was first built in 514 and was moved to the present location in 1381. When the first Emperor Zhu Yuan-zhang was building his tomb, he had a temple on the site torn down and rebuilt a few kilometers to the east. Of this temple only the Beamless Hall (so called because it is built entirely of bricks) remains. The structure has an interesting vaulted ceiling and a large stone platform where Buddhist statues used to be seated. In the 1930s the hall was turned into a memorial to those who died in the 1926-28 revolution.

To the north of the Beamless Hall stands the nine-storey Linggu Pagoda, which was constructed in 1929. The long climb to the top is rewarded with a magnificent view over wooded countryside.

linggu temple nanjingancient bellbuddha statue

More Attractions in Nanjing

Recommended China Tours Including Lingu Monastery Nanjing

  • China East Expedition

    This is an ideal expedition that provides great experience to the diversity and colorfulness of eastern China, includi ...

  • Nanjing Lijiang Tour

    In this tour, you will learn about the Chinese history in Nanjing. And the stunning landscape and Naxi ethnic culture ...

  • Nanjing Tour

    Nanjing served as the capital for six ancient dynasties, and thus boasts numerous historical sights – the reminders o ...